Skip to Content

Williamson County added to state disaster declaration in response to protests

SPRINGFIELD (WSIL) -- Governor JB Pritzker is adding five counties to the existing disaster proclamation to aid local jurisdictions in efforts to keep communities safe.  

The following counties are being added: Lake, Peoria, Rock Island, Williamson and Stephenson.

Governor Pritzker says those counties represent a threat for looting or destruction through planned protests, are home to critical infrastructure, or are where the state has received requests for state assistance or resources. 

On Sunday, Gov. Pritzker activated 375 Illinois National Guard soldiers to assist the Chicago Police Department.

On Monday, the governor issued a disaster proclamation for nine counties and activated an additional 250 Guard members to assist throughout the state. Soldiers in the "Quick Reactionary Force" (QRF) will be staged in Chicago, Kewanee, Mt. Vernon, Peoria, Springfield and Scott Air Force Base awaiting instructions from Illinois State Police.

According to the governor's office, the State Emergency Operations Center is monitoring operations throughout the state and fulfilling requests from local governments.

Personnel from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and various mutual aid networks are also assisting.

Kenzie Dillow

Skip to content