Skip to Content

30 Illinois counties at COVID-19 ‘warning level’

IL coronavirus

SPRINGFIELD (WSIL) -- The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) says 30 counties in the state are at a "warning level" for COVID-19.

That's one more county than last week.

According to IDPH, a county enters a warning level when it experiences an increase in two or more risk indicators from the state’s COVID-19 Resurgence Mitigation plan.

The 30 Illinois counties at a warning level on Friday, Sept. 11 were:

  • Bond
  • Bureau
  • Cass
  • Clinton
  • Coles
  • Crawford
  • DeKalb
  • DuPage
  • Effingham
  • Greene
  • Grundy
  • Hancock
  • Henderson
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Jersey
  • Lawrence
  • Madison
  • McLean
  • Monroe
  • Morgan
  • Pulaski
  • Schuyler
  • Shelby
  • Stark
  • St. Clair
  • Tazewell
  • Vermilion
  • Washington
  • Williamson

This is the fourth week in a row Williamson County has appeared on the IDPH's warning level list.

"Although the reasons for counties reaching a warning level varies, some of the common factors for an increase in cases and outbreaks are associated with college parties, weddings, large gatherings, bars and clubs, long-term care facilities and other congregate settings, travel to neighboring states, and spread among members of the same household who are not isolating at home. Cases connected to schools are beginning to be reported. General transmission of the virus in the community is also increasing," said a release Friday from the Illinois Department of Public Health.

On Friday, IDPH announced 2,145 new confirmed cases of coronavirus COVID-19 in Illinois, including 32 additional confirmed deaths.

Currently, IDPH is reporting a total of 257,788 cases of COVID-19, including 8,273 deaths, in Illinois.

The preliminary seven-day statewide positivity rate for September 4 – September 10 is 3.9%.

Mandy Robertson

Skip to content