Skip to Content

Mayfield and McCracken County get big wins in week two of Kentucky HS Football

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
mayfield GC

MAYFIELD (WSIL) -- The last time Mayfield lost to Graves County was 2008, and the last time the Cardinals started a season 0-2 was 1993 and they were not about to let either one happen.

Mayfield found themselves in a 14-0 hole after a pair of Clint McKee rushing touchdowns gave the Eagles what appeared to be a comfortable lead. McKee made it 14-0 when he turned the corner and found the pylon on 4th and 2 from the 15 yard line in the second quarter.

Momentum changed in the second quarter when it appeared McKee scored for the third time to make it 20-0, only to have points come off the scoreboard due to a Graves County holding penalty. Mayfield took advantage a few plays later when Ben Gloyd came up with an interception. Very next play, the Cardinals go deep when Zane Cartwright throws a long touchdown to make it 14-6.

Third quarter the momentum completely shifted when the Mayfield offensive line imposed their will and the running game began to pick up big chunks of yards. Kylan Galbreath would score on a wildcat play and after a two point conversion, the game was tied at 14. Later in the game Cartwright endured a big hit and hit Daniel Coles with a short pass who found some blockers and took it the rest of the way for the go-ahead score and the Cardinals never looked back, winning 24-14 and picking up their first win of the season.

In Paducah, McCracken County gets another statement win to start the season 2-0 with a convincing 57-0 victory over Marshall County. Star running back Hunter Bradley had a pair of early touchdowns for the Mustangs to set the pace. Bradley scored on a tough run and then on a pass from Pryor Lamb. One of the big highlights of the first half was a one handed catch by Zander Mayes on a long pass by Lamb.

Kentucky scores 

Mayfield 24 
Graves County 14

Marshall County 0
McCracken County 57

Paducah Tilghman 41
Calloway County 14

Crittenden County 28
Union County 12

Madisonville-North Hopkins 49
Ballard Memorial 0

Trigg County 6
Murray 41

Missouri scores
Jackson 63
Cape Central 0

Kennett 46
St. Pius X (Festus) 0

Doniphan 0
New Madrid County Central 45

East Prairie 25
Dexter 15

Scott City 42
Portageville 13 

Poplar Bluff 30
Sikeston 9 

Malden 30
Perryville 35

Jason Hurst

Skip to content